Jun 9/18 – our boozy weekend and my first pizza

It’s Saturday night, and already it’s been such a great weekend.

My hunny scored some free tickets to a local beer festival on Friday night where breweries from around the city were showcasing their craft beers. It was such a fun evening, we tried sips of this and that, and on top of the beer there was a bunch of yummy food included. My favorite was the fried perogies, but they also had mini grilled cheese, ribs and wings, chili, veggies, and chips. It was so good! We bought some MeadJitos which are this amazing lime honey concoction, and some Eau Claire Mules (bottled Moscow mules). They are going to be so delish with some bbq on the deck.

Today we joined my brother, his girlfriend, and my parents for a hike in West Bragg Creek called Strange Brew (fitting!), which I thoroughly enjoyed. My hunny is not a hiker so he was not as thrilled with it. The path was well marked but was also shared with mountain bikes, so you had to keep your head up and get out of the way often. Because of this I’m not sure I would do this hike again. We went from the hike to a honey winery, Spirit Hills, and had a lovely tour (thanks to my brother) and sampled some really neat tasting honey wine. I’m not a wine drinker but these were really lovely. Beginner wine perhaps. I found I could actually taste the subtle flavors unlike regular wine. It was really neat learning about the bees (they have 185 hives) and the process of extracting the honey from the wax. I learned that the wax takes 7 times as much energy for bees to make compared to honey, and that right now wax is more expensive per pound than honey is. The whole process from hive to bottle is incredibly labour intensive. The tour guide also spoke a bit about how she got there. She was a volunteer worker with World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms group, where you can work for different farms around the world and get paid in lodging, food, and knowledge. How cool!

We came home and relaxed for an hour, and I started thinking about dinner and the upcoming week. I was feeling tired from the day’s adventures and considered ordering pizza. Then I thought about what I was going to do while waiting for said pizza to arrive (nothing) and decided I would try to make my own with what we had around. It turned out great!

I used this recipe for the crust – https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/244638/no-yeast-pizza-crust/ and used salsa for the pizza sauce (it’s what we had available). We had some pepperoni lunch meat around and some frozen bell peppers and mushrooms. It took 25 minutes to prepare and bake which is how long we usually wait for delivery anyways. It also cost next to nothing, compared to our usual $40 + spend on delivery (extra cheese, cheesy garlic bread, pop, delivery charges, tip the driver…). I’m very proud of myself for leaning something new, and we will definitely make it again!

I also put some bread on for the week. Trying a new strategy using oil instead of butter and light crust setting instead of medium. I’m hoping these adjustments will keep the bread softer for longer. We’ll see.

Leave a comment